FTDI Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Advanced Search  

News:

Welcome to the FTDI Community!

Please read our Welcome Note

Technical Support enquires
please contact the team
@ FTDI Support


New Bridgetek Community is now open

Please note that we have created the Bridgetek Community to discuss all Bridgetek products e.g. EVE, MCU.

Please follow this link and create a new user account to get started.

Bridgetek Community

Author Topic: handshaking, flow control  (Read 528 times)

RieJue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
handshaking, flow control
« on: August 24, 2018, 02:20:29 PM »

Hello ....
I have a FT232BL connected to a MCU and I want use the handshake signals. However, I notice no reaction of the handshake signals at data overflow (buffer overflow).
Is it necessary to program the FT232 for handshaking?
What can I do so that the signals react?

I have read in the FDTI Knoweledgebase:
"How does RTS/CTS flow control work in an FTDI chip?".

In my project RTS# is always high after power on.
regards Jurgen
« Last Edit: August 24, 2018, 02:49:40 PM by RieJue »
Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: handshaking, flow control
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2018, 03:04:07 PM »

Hello,

The FT232BL flow control is handled automatically when configured by the application software.

For example, if you use a terminal program like PuTTY you can set the flow control to RTS/CTS or DSR/DTR.
Once this is set by the application, the flow control signals are automatically controlled by the IC.

Also, FT232B is quite an old IC and not recommended for new designs.
You should consider FT232R or FT-X

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged

RieJue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: handshaking, flow control
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2018, 08:35:07 PM »

Hello,
thank you very much for your answer.
I did not understand, I have to program the FT232BL for flow control to work, or I do not have to do anything.
In my application I have connected a MCU with Handshake-Signals to the FT232BL (like a PuTTY), but the Device does not respond to the signals.
There is no automatic control in my application. After Power on the RTS# is allways high at the FT232BL.
I have read the followed in FTDI Knowledgebase:
"If RTS# is logic 1 it is indicating the FTxxx device cannot accept more data".
That means In my case, I can never send data because RTS# is always high.
Regards Jürgen
Logged