FTDI Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Advanced Search  

News:

Welcome to the FTDI Community!

Please read our Welcome Note

Technical Support enquires
please contact the team
@ FTDI Support


New Bridgetek Community is now open

Please note that we have created the Bridgetek Community to discuss all Bridgetek products e.g. EVE, MCU.

Please follow this link and create a new user account to get started.

Bridgetek Community

Author Topic: Cannot flash a firmware via VNC2 Debug Module  (Read 455 times)

Takumi Ando

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Cannot flash a firmware via VNC2 Debug Module
« on: February 13, 2020, 02:46:32 AM »

Hello!

I'm developing V2DIP1-3D with VNC2 Debug Module.
But they don't work correctly...
I cannot flash a firmware via the debugger.

I tried FT_Prog and V2Prog, but both failed with errors.
Did I miss something?

BR,
Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot flash a firmware via VNC2 Debug Module
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2020, 04:33:34 PM »

Hello,

Please ensure the VNC2 Debugger/Programmer Module drivers have installed correctly.
This can be checked in device manager.
You might want to try a driver uninstall/reinstall. See FTDI_Driver_Uninstall_with_2-12-28_Install.pdf.

The other thing to do would be to disable the COM port, because the VNC2 uses the D2XX drivers rather than VCP drivers.
This would stop any other software program claiming the COM port without you knowing, which means that the D2XX interface wouldn’t be available.
This can be changed in the EEPROM using FT_Prog which would make this change permanent.
It can also be done at Windows device manager level, but the option would only exist for that particular installation.

Then ensure that the VNC2 Debugger/Programmer Module is connected to the VNC2 module/device correctly.

Can you also try programming directly within the IDE?

Vinculum/Vinculum-II are very mature products and are no longer supported by R&D and has been superseded by FT9xx.

The best solution we have is our FT90x MCU.

There are lots of other examples available:

AN_360 FT9xx Example Applications
FT90x Software Examples
FT9xx Software Examples

There are significant benefits of FT90x:

-Eclipse based IDE
-Source code for API drivers is provided
-Significant performance improvement
-Actively in development by R&D
-Improved documentation and software examples

We provide FT9xx Development Modules and a free FT9xx Toolchain for custom application development.

If you need any further information, please email your local support team:

https://www.ftdichip.com/FTContact.htm

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged

Takumi Ando

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot flash a firmware via VNC2 Debug Module
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2020, 04:30:51 AM »

Hello!

Okay, I was using VNC2 Debugger with VCP driver.
I need to use D2XX drivers but it may disable any software using COM ports, right?

>This can be changed in the EEPROM using FT_Prog which would make this change permanent.
>It can also be done at Windows device manager level, but the option would only exist for that particular installation.

So does it means that I need to rewrite VID/PID on the EEPROM on VNC2 Debugger?
Would you teach me the way to do it or give any documentations?

>Can you also try programming directly within the IDE?

It also doesn't work correctly...

>Vinculum/Vinculum-II are very mature products and are no longer supported by R&D and has been superseded by FT9xx.
>The best solution we have is our FT90x MCU.

Thank you for your information! I will consider about using FT90x series.
But now I need to use VNC2 for the prototype of new product...
Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot flash a firmware via VNC2 Debug Module
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2020, 04:33:20 PM »

Hello,

The VNC2 Debugger can only be used with the D2XX Drivers.

You do not need to rewrite VID/PID on the EEPROM, only disable the VCP Port.
As mentioned, this can also be done in Windows Device Manager if you do not want to change the EEPROM.

If you need further support, contact your local support office:

https://www.ftdichip.com/FTContact.htm

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged