FTDI Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Advanced Search  

News:

Welcome to the FTDI Community!

Please read our Welcome Note

Technical Support enquires
please contact the team
@ FTDI Support


New Bridgetek Community is now open

Please note that we have created the Bridgetek Community to discuss all Bridgetek products e.g. EVE, MCU.

Please follow this link and create a new user account to get started.

Bridgetek Community

Author Topic: VNC2 ports  (Read 7254 times)

championx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
VNC2 ports
« on: April 30, 2020, 04:01:54 PM »

Hi all! this is my first post, I use a lot of FTDI chips like FT232 and FT230x, but this time im starting to work with the VNC2 chip.

The chip is amazing! but i cant change the uart port. I designed a board that doesnt use the default pins for the UART communication, it uses the pins 29, 30, 31 and 32. So i grab the V2DAP firmware, change the IOMUX part to point at those pins, but it doesnt seems to be taking the change...

code (I use the 32 pin version of the chip):

packageType = vos_get_package_type();
if (packageType == VINCULUM_II_32_PIN)
{
// UART_TXD to pin 23 as Output.
vos_iomux_define_output(29, IOMUX_OUT_UART_TXD);
// UART_RXD to pin 24 as Input.
vos_iomux_define_input(30, IOMUX_IN_UART_RXD);
// UART_RTS_N to pin 25 as Output.
vos_iomux_define_output(31, IOMUX_OUT_UART_RTS_N);
// UART_CTS_N to pin 26 as Input.
vos_iomux_define_input(32, IOMUX_IN_UART_CTS_N);
}

Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
    • View Profile
Re: VNC2 ports
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2020, 09:12:55 AM »

Hello,

Welcome to the FTDI Community,

Those changes seem fine.

      // UART_TXD to pin 29 as Output.
      vos_iomux_define_output(29, IOMUX_OUT_UART_TXD);
      // UART_RXD to pin 30 as Input.
      vos_iomux_define_input(30, IOMUX_IN_UART_RXD);
      // UART_RTS_N to pin 31 as Output.
      vos_iomux_define_output(31, IOMUX_OUT_UART_RTS_N);
      // UART_CTS_N to pin 32 as Input.
      vos_iomux_define_input(32, IOMUX_IN_UART_CTS_N);

If you have access to the default UART pins, it would be worth making sure your serial device can communicate with those using default firmware first of all. Note that RTS and CTS must be used as the device is set by default for hardware flow control and so no data will flow if not asserted (we always recommend this to avoid data loss).

Best Regards, FTDI Community
Logged

championx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: VNC2 ports
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2020, 02:16:28 PM »

Hi! Thanks for your answer. Yes, the device works perfect using the default uart definitions. But when i chance the pins, the chage doesnt seems to take effect.

I even modify some printf text to be sure that the new firmware Is loaded, and the text changes does take effect.

Do you hace some example file where the uart pins are not the default ones?

Thanks
Logged