FTDI Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Advanced Search  

News:

Welcome to the FTDI Community!

Please read our Welcome Note

Technical Support enquires
please contact the team
@ FTDI Support


New Bridgetek Community is now open

Please note that we have created the Bridgetek Community to discuss all Bridgetek products e.g. EVE, MCU.

Please follow this link and create a new user account to get started.

Bridgetek Community

Author Topic: Vinculum ii dubugger doesn't stop at breakpoint when running  (Read 1126 times)

perrizozach

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile

Hello,

I'm trying to get ANY project to run on my VNC2 debugger, but it appears the program doesn't even begin to run. When I select "start", the debugger LEDs flash normally, but when I create a breakpoint it never halts. Even if the breakpoint is the first executable action, the debugger doesn't halt. Is this a common error?

Any advice helps.

Thanks
Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 667
    • View Profile
Re: Vinculum ii dubugger doesn't stop at breakpoint when running
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2021, 04:31:53 PM »

Hello,

This is not a common issue.

What's the exact hardware that you are using?

Which project are you trying to run?

Are you sure you have built the project for Debug and not Release?

See the following for Vinculum-II IDE Source Code Debugging.

In order to debug at source code level with Vinculum II IDE:
 
In the build tab, select 'Debug' build configuration.
Note that 'Release' build does not allow source code level debug.
Rebuild the project.
 
In the debug tab, click the Green tick in debugger Interface.
Select VII Debugger Module, then click connect then OK.
 
Click Flash to write program to flash memory.
 
Using View --> Project, open a file that contains main function, or a place where you want the debugger to stop.

Right click on a function or operation and select 'Toggle breakpoint'.
 
Click on Start. The debugger should stop at the set breakpoint.
 
See AN_138 Vinculum-II Debug Interface Description for further information.

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged

perrizozach

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vinculum ii dubugger doesn't stop at breakpoint when running
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2021, 05:16:39 PM »

Thanks for the response.

I'm using the V2EVAL board with a 48-pin VNC2 debugger module. When connected, the debugger interface reads:

"V2EVAL Board C-307
FT0H3TAJC
VNC2 48-pin package"

I've tried running a few different sample projects such as "USBHostGeneric", "ButtonsLights", and "HelloWorld", but get the same problem every time.

I set a breakpoint at an early executable function (such as a function call) and the program runs, without halting, with no uart response or otherwise.

In the Build Configuration section, I've set the mode to "Debug".

The IDE reports that it has successfully written data to chip when I hit "flash", and likewise for connecting to debugger when I hit "start".

Thanks
Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 667
    • View Profile
Re: Vinculum ii dubugger doesn't stop at breakpoint when running
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2021, 04:29:50 PM »

Hello,

It sounds like there may be a problem with the programming if there is no UART data coming out.

Can you please perform a Verify after Flash?
This is done within the IDE under the Debug tab.

Which version of the VNC2 IDE are you using?

Note that the Hello World sample application has been designed for the V2Eval Board Rev 2.0 and later.
V2Eval Boards have the version printed on the silk screen next to the V2EVAL label.
The V2Eval boards Rev 1 require a different IOMux setting for this sample to function.
This sample writes a test file to a BOMs flash stick hosted on USB Port 2.

Which version of the hardware to you have?

Please check the readme.txt in each of the example folder for details about the example operation.

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged

perrizozach

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vinculum ii dubugger doesn't stop at breakpoint when running
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2021, 03:22:44 PM »

When I click Verify, a message appears that says "Device has wrong version of Prog_Loader. Please contact support1@ftdichip.com for update."

I'm using version 2.0.2-SP2.

My V2EVAL is rev2.1.

After some searching on FTDI website, I downloaded the application "FT_PROG" to try another method of loading .rom files, but so far this method has not been successful either.

Specifically, the error message "The handle to the device is invalid" shows up, or the programming stops at "setting baud rate" and the program stops responding.

Is there a link to an updated Prog_Loader I could use?

Thanks
Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 667
    • View Profile
Re: Vinculum ii dubugger doesn't stop at breakpoint when running
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2021, 04:38:35 PM »

Hello,

Please send an email to your local support office and we will send you instructions on how to update the Prog_Loader:

https://ftdichip.com/technical-support/

This is most likely the root of your problems.

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged