FTDI Community

General Category => Discussion - Software => Topic started by: aferquez on May 31, 2019, 04:11:55 PM

Title: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: aferquez on May 31, 2019, 04:11:55 PM
Hi,

I am trying send the comand POWERDOWN to the FT-81x and it do not work. I use the function: Ft_Gpu_HostCommand(phost,0x50);

This function works properlly with RESET COMMAND, for example. Ft_Gpu_HostCommand(phost,0x68);

I do not know what is may problem. Can somebody help me, please?

I have the Ft-81X in a CleO device with FT-900 processor.

Thanks in advanced!
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: FTDI Community on June 03, 2019, 12:29:30 PM
Hello,

Can you please try using Ft_Gpu_HostCommand(phost,0x43); and let me know how you get on?

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: aferquez on June 03, 2019, 03:37:10 PM
Hello,

Can you please try using Ft_Gpu_HostCommand(phost,0x43); and let me know how you get on?

Best Regards,
FTDI Community

Hi,

Thanks for the quick reply. I tried all the power modes that I saw in your documentation. 0x41 for stanby mode (did not work),0x42 for sleep mode(did not work) and 0x43 and 0x50 for power down mode (did not work).

The aplication of this type of commands must be inmediate? May be I must use another command or instruction after or before?

I need turn off the FT-800 at first one and the FT-900 at second one. I do not will need turn on again any of them by GPIO or another way. I want turn off both I.C. for get the lowest power consume.

After this turn off that I need I desire need switch on the power button again. I will not use any software turn on of the system.

Thanks and regards
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: FTDI Community on June 04, 2019, 10:24:15 AM
Hello,

Can you show me the code you used to issue the RESET command?

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: aferquez on June 04, 2019, 11:34:10 AM
Hello,

Can you show me the code you used to issue the RESET command?

Best Regards,
FTDI Community

Hi,

For check the properlly works of the function Ft_Gpu_HostCommand (). I used the command 0x68 for test it and it worked.
Ft_Gpu_HostCommand(phost,0x68) .This CORE_RESET command worked simlar like  Ft_Gpu_CoreReset() function.

I do not understand why the function FT_Gpu_HostCommand() did not work for the STANBY,SLEEP or POWERDOWN commands and it worked with CORE_RESET command.

Can I write in some register for get this power down of the FT-800? I can write in many registers and it work fine too.For example, the function Ft_Gpu_Hal_WrMem(phost, REG_PWM_DUTY, 0x00, 1) turn off the backligth PWM.

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: FTDI Community on June 04, 2019, 12:56:31 PM
Hello,

I will need to double check with the development team if it is possible to send host commands to a Cleo board in such a manner, as the FT900 on the Cleo is programmed with a custom firmware which expects Cleo.xxx() commands.

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: aferquez on June 04, 2019, 02:47:04 PM
Hello,

I will need to double check with the development team if it is possible to send host commands to a Cleo board in such a manner, as the FT900 on the Cleo is programmed with a custom firmware which expects Cleo.xxx() commands.

Best Regards,
FTDI Community

Hi,

Sorry, I has a mistake. My device is ME810A-HV35R. Not CleO device. I use ME810A-HV35R board with a MM900EV-LITE board.

Thanks and regards.
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: FTDI Community on June 04, 2019, 03:12:10 PM
Hello,

In that case, can you send me a SPI capture of when you are sending the host commands?

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: aferquez on June 14, 2019, 04:23:58 PM
Hello,

In that case, can you send me a SPI capture of when you are sending the host commands?

Best Regards,
FTDI Community

Hi,

Of course, but I do not know How can I get that SPI capture. Sorry.
Have FTDI any software for that?

Thanks
Title: Re: FT-81X POWERDOWN COMMAND problem
Post by: FTDI Community on June 17, 2019, 02:07:05 PM
Hello,

You can use a Logic Analyser to capture the data on the SPI pins.

Best Regards,
FTDI Community