FTDI Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Advanced Search  

News:

Welcome to the FTDI Community!

Please read our Welcome Note

Technical Support enquires
please contact the team
@ FTDI Support


New Bridgetek Community is now open

Please note that we have created the Bridgetek Community to discuss all Bridgetek products e.g. EVE, MCU.

Please follow this link and create a new user account to get started.

Bridgetek Community

Author Topic: Can't rotate display back after rotating it once [FT800]  (Read 10819 times)

uTasker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Can't rotate display back after rotating it once [FT800]
« on: July 18, 2018, 01:17:57 PM »

Hi All

I have the following problem in the simulator and on the HW [FT800]

1: Using the following command sequence the display content is initially successfully rotated by 180°

Code: [Select]
Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_MemWrite(phost, REG_ROTATE, [b]1[/b]);
Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_Swap(phost);

2: The following however has no effect

Code: [Select]
Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_MemWrite(phost, REG_ROTATE, [b]0[/b]);
Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_Swap(phost);

and the display continues showing the image in its rotated form.

The rotate command doesn't reference any restrictions as to why the second use to set it back to 0 would not be accepted.
Does any one know what the problem is?

Regards

Mark


P.S. The
Code: [Select]
Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_MemWrite(phost, REG_ROTATE, [b]1[/b]);alone has no effect and the
Code: [Select]
Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_Swap(phost);is needed after it. I also don't understand how they are related.

Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 892
    • View Profile
Re: Can't rotate display back after rotating it once [FT800]
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2018, 04:04:47 PM »

Hello,

Can you try writing the REG_ROTATE register with the Ft_Gpu_Hal_Wr8() function and not via the Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_MemWrite(), and let me know how you get on?


Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged

uTasker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Can't rotate display back after rotating it once [FT800]
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2018, 04:29:18 PM »

Hi

I just tested in the simulator and it works using
Ft_Gpu_Hal_Wr8() instead of
Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_MemWrite()

I'll have to have the firmware check on the HW (I'll send it to the client right away) and will report again (although I have found the simulator very accurate so it will almost certainly be OK too).

What is the explanation for the different behavior between the two commands?

Regards

Mark
Logged

FTDI Community

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 892
    • View Profile
Re: Can't rotate display back after rotating it once [FT800]
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2018, 10:10:44 AM »

Hello,

Ft_Gpu_Hal_Wr8() - will immediately perform a direct SPI write to the desired register.

Ft_Gpu_CoCmd_MemWrite() - places the command into the co-processor list which the API will package into an SPI transfer.

The overheard of waiting on the API to perform the SPI write, versus manually performing the SPI write with Ft_Gpu_Hal_Wr8() is likely the cause of the issue.

Best Regards,
FTDI Community
Logged

uTasker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Can't rotate display back after rotating it once [FT800]
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2018, 12:35:25 AM »

Hi

I have had confirmation that the problem is resolved on the HW too.

Thanks

regards

Mark

Logged